New Hall Of Fame Inductee – William Coulson
Newcastle United Foundation’s Hall of Fame has a new addition in the form of William Armstrong Coulson.
A name that may not be well known amongst supporters of the Toon Army, Coulson can be regarded as one of the founding fathers of Newcastle United.
The captain of Stanley Cricket Club, who were based in St Peter’s, situated along the River Tyne. Coulson went on to play a pivotal role in establishing Stanley FC of Byker in November 1881. Skipper of the new football club as well and only 19 years of age when the side was formed, Coulson was a figurehead of the club and can be regarded as a key part in the formative years of Newcastle United. Back then, he was training as a schoolteacher, later becoming a headmaster near Alnwick.
Changing their name to Newcastle East End in October 1882 and swiftly relocating to Chillingham Road in Heaton, East End were to move into St. James’ Park following the demise of Newcastle West End in 1892.
It is hard to believe in this era of Premier League stars that a team comprising young men that were used to playing cricket played a key role in the growth of football on Tyneside and in the process laid the foundations for what was to become Newcastle United.
The Victorian days of ‘red shirts and white knickers’ are far removed from the famous black and white stripes that are worn today. Thus we must acknowledge the early work of William Armstrong Coulson as he joins an elite list of names that have contributed greatly to the rich heritage of the football club.